My Morning Routine

I’ve said before I am a creature of habit, who likes routine and stability (and is freaked out by change!). I like to do the same things, at the same time, wherever I can! So here is what I like to do most mornings during the week (my weekend routines are a little different but that’s a story for another day). Enjoy.

First off I am woken between 5:30am and 6am, by my alarm, SleepCycle.ย I’ve only just downloaded this app, which tracks sleep through the amount of movement it senses during the night, and wakes you up when you are in a lighter sleep. I have found it quite eye-opening to see how much decent sleep I actually get each night (I’ll give you a clue; it’s not much), and it’s made me make a few changes to my lifestyle to try and improve that! But I do like that the app wakes me up gently. I check my phone straight away when I get up and read any unread messages or emails. I’d like to stop doing this, but I’m finding it hard ๐Ÿ˜‚ although I used to spend a good 20 minutes in bed just scrolling around on Facebook etc so this is an improvement!

IMG_8527

After this I get my exercise mat out to do my daily ab workout ๐Ÿ˜ž I’m only on day 6 and haven’t noticed any changes so far. It’s definitely getting tough quickly though! I love working out first thing, it really wakes me up and sets me up for the day! Sometimes I do weights (as you can see mine are tiny ๐Ÿ˜‚) too.

Workout finished, it’s time to get ready for the day. I like to wash my face with a citrus or tea tree wash in the mornings to wake my skin up.ย After brushing my teeth, I like to moisturise and get dressed. I won’t lie, there’s usually some dancing around while I wait for my moisturiser to soak in enough to put on clothes ๐Ÿ˜‚ I don’t shower in the morning unless it’s a particularly warm day. I shower and wash my hair in the evenings.

When I’m ready, I head downstairs for someย breakfast. I love crumpets, but sometimes I have a bowl of granola, with yoghurt and banana chips ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿผ This is usually followed by a coffee from my prized possession, ourย Dolce Gusto coffee machine. Can’t do mornings without coffee. While I’m waiting for my coffee, I check out Instagram (my account can be found at the bottom of my blog ๐Ÿ™ƒ) and look at the news.

IMG_8365ย I absolutely love summer mornings. I love that it’s light when I wake up, and it makes me feel like Iย have more time before work. I like to sit and watch some TV while I eat breakfast, and I’m usually ready to leave the house around 7:25am. I think in winter I tend to get up later, because it’s dark and cold and I don’t want to get out of bed!

Leaving at this time means I have half an hour to get myself ready for the day. I think when I start my new job in September I’ll need to leave even earlier!

One thought on “My Morning Routine

Leave a Reply

