Cook with me – brunch

It’s been a while since I posted anything food-related, so enjoy this blog, in which I will share with you my absolute favourite brunch – avocado toast with poached eggs! Yep, I’mย that person. I first discovered avocado about 2 years ago (I liked it before it was cool – am I hipster or basic?!), and although I wasn’t sold to begin with, it does add a certain je ne sais quoi to my Sunday brunch!

I am pretty fussy about my avocados. And my eggs. And my toast, to be honest… I like to use a ripe and ready avocado (nothing worse than slicing in and finding out it’s not ripe #firstworldproblems), sourdough bread, and free range organic eggs. I would love to be vegan but giving up my weekly poached eggs would be devastating. Also I have a friend who has chickens and sometimes gives me eggs so I feel like they are OK.

IMG_8396

I use an interesting method of poaching… I saw this online and tried it and it was the best thing I ever did. Before I used to try and swirl the eggs around so they stuck together, or use a poachie which I bought from ALDI… The first step is toย drop the crackedย egg into a bit of clingfilm lining a cup (with a splash of olive oil in the bottom to stop it from sticking. I hate this bit because the oil does nothing for the taste but without it the clingfilm will not be removed).

IMG_8398

Then, twist the top to make a little baggie and drop it into already-boiling water on a medium heat. 4 mins later, remove it from the heat but leave it in the water. It will keep cooking while you deal with the rest of your delicious brunch ๐Ÿ˜Š

IMG_8399

I always like to toast my bread last – I hate cold toast. So I take the time while the egg is poaching to mash my avocado.Literally just mash it up into a bowl. Yum…

IMG_8400

Then toast the bread, snip the top off of your poached egg baggie, sprinkle on a pinch of salt to taste and voilร . The most beautiful brunch in the world. Serve with fresh fruit juice, fresh ground coffee (or both, if you are me) and a copy of Vogue, for the perfect relaxed Sunday morning.

Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Cook with me – brunch

Leave a Reply

