My hair story

It’s amazing how much my hair has changed with my life, and I never really thought too much about it until I started writing this blog. Here’s my hair journey.

When I was little I had dark curls which were, if I say so myself, adorable. I might even go as far as to say I looked angelic πŸ˜‡

Unfortunately I grew up and wasn’t much interested in my hair, other than that I liked it long and I liked to shove it back into a ponytail. My mum always insisted on cutting a fringe for me, which looked horrific because my hair has a natural curl, and the shorter it is, the curlier it gets. There is a special description of what my fringe looked like between the ages of 4 and 11, which I won’t repeat here because I know my mum reads my blog, but suffice to say it was not a good look for me.

When I reached secondary school I started to become a little more conscious of how I looked, and I noticed that none of the other girls had fringes like mine. I liked the girls who had lovely straight hair, but this was before the days of GHD straighteners, and I pretty much had to be forced to shower in those days so blow-drying was a complete unknown. So it was around this time that I decided to grow out THE FRINGE. I did this by parting the fringe in the middle and clipping each side back with a butterfly clip. I looked like this:

url.png

… only less adorable because I’m not a cartoon character. Or a monkey*. But you get the idea. It didn’t make me any more popular, but surprisingly that’s not one of the things I was bullied for. In fact I don’t remember anyone making any comments about my hair.

(Side note: I never got headlice when I was a child, despite several outbreaks at our primary school, one involving my sister. Perhaps not showering paid off this time).

I wore my hair the same way every day for school until I was in year 10, aged 14. That was when I made a new set of friends and became a little bit more confident. I started straightening my hair (with my terrible straighteners inherited from my cousin), and wearing makeup. I grew out of the ‘goth phase’ and was a bit more friendly to people. Still didn’t care much about my hair though, aside from to hate how it wasn’t naturally straight like my friend’s.

When I was 18, I decided a change was in order, and I cut the whole lot off to chin length. I remember a lot of people commenting but all I think when I look back at (the very rare) photos taken around that time is how shiny it looks and what good condition it was in! Something that never occurred to me at the time.

As I said, it was a lot of hard work when it was that short. It seemed to get thicker and took twice as long to manage. Even though it was a lot shorter, I seemed to get through the same amount of shampoo! So that look didn’t stay for long, and I started growing it out again.

And that’s where I am now, nearly 10 years later. It’s been dyed (semi-permanently), ombrΓ©’d, straightened, curled, fringe-d, de-fringe-d… but after avoiding the hairdresser for 4 years it’s time to go back and see what damage I have done to my poor hair.

You see, I started getting into the Youtube beauty vlogging culture about a year ago, and after watching all of these haircare videos, started thinking that maybe I needed to make some changes.

I stopped washing my hair every day. 4 times a week is enough. I blast it with cold water after every wash, because I heard that seals the cuticles and makes it shinier and smoother. I only use heat on it three times a week, and I curl with a wand rather than straighten. It takes a lot less time and I like the look! IΒ always use a heat-protecting serum before I blow-dry or curl. And I use a Tangle Teezer (which was actually given to me by one of my students, whose aunty works for the company and gets a lot of freebies! #win) and brush from bottom to top to avoid snarls. Last but not least, although I don’t use a lot of products on my hair apart from serum and sometimes a smoothing coconut oil (Oh no! I can’t believe I forgot to mention this in my Body Shop blog!), I use a clarifying shampoo once a week to get rid of any buildup.

I’m currently looking to buy a silk or satin pillow, because I’m concerned about how much my hair is being damaged by rubbing it against a cotton pillow. Basically I’m obsessed with my hair and I love it.

Please don’t cut it all off next month, hairdresser…

*Actually, I hate monkeys. I really do. That’s a blog for another time though…

2 thoughts on “My hair story

Leave a Reply

