bake with me – ginger loaf

As you will know (if you read this blog), I’m not exactly a natural at cooking or baking. In fact, I try my hardest to avoid cooking. It helps that we have two sets of parents who are happy to feed us at least once a week.

But just before Christmas, I made a lovely ginger loaf, using this recipe. It went down very well, and it was one of the first things I’ve made that has been a) edible and b) resemblant of what I actually intended to make.

My two complaints were that it was a little on the heavy side (but very moist!) and that, for a ginger cake, it wasn’t hugely ginger-y.

So I’m going to have another go today, and blog the result. I’m adding another small tsp of ginger and a bit more mixed spice, and I asked my grandma how to make it lighter and she suggested using more self-raising and less plain flour. So I’m adjusting that too. Here’s my new (and hopefully improved) recipe:

  • 60g butter
  • 125g golden syrup
  • 75g plain flour
  • 50g self-raising flour
  • 1tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 2tsp ginger
  • 1tsp mixed spice
  • 100g sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 125ml milk
  • 1 beaten egg.

IMG_7213

 

You’ll also need these items:

  • loaf tin
  • small saucepan
  • mixing bowl
  • sieve
  • electric whisk (if available)
  • cooling rack

The method is as follows!

Start off by preparing a loaf tin. That might mean greasing, if you are using a traditional one, or, if you are like me and lucky enough to own a silicon one then just getting it out of the cupboard πŸ™ƒ

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees (mine is a fan oven so 160 is fine for me).

Then take a small saucepan and melt together the butter and the golden syrup on a low heat. Take care not to burn it, it won’t take long.Β When it’s all melted together into a smooth caramel-coloured liquid, turn it off but leave it on the hob so it stays warm.

IMG_7207

 

In the meantime, take your bowl and sieve both types of flour, sugar, ginger, mixed spice, baking powder (or bicarbonate of soda) into the bowl. Mix them together until they are even.

IMG_7208

Beat the egg in a small bowl or large mug, and add the milk and stir it until it’s even. Add the egg and milk into the dry mixture and whisk until perfectly blended into a beautiful-smelling mix!

The butter and syrup mixture should be cooled enough to add by now. Add the mixture a bit at a time, continuing to whisk until you have a smooth batter.

IMG_7212

Pour the batter into the loaf tin and place into the oven, for 55 minutes.Β do not open the door during this time! Or you will have a rather sunken loaf. I speak from experience.

When it’s done, give it five minutes to cool in the tin before you tip it out onto your cooling rack. Remember it needs a while to cool before you put on the frosting, or the frosting won’t set…

IMG_7214

For the frosting, you will need:

  • 125g icing sugar, sifted
  • 25g unsalted butter at room temperature
  • 60g cream cheese

Mix the icing sugar and butter first before you add the cream cheese. I don’t know why. You just do.

This will make enough of the frosting for a thin layer on top of the cake. If you want a thicker topping, double the mixture to make two batches and leave the first layer to set before you apply the second one.

Et voilΓ !

That’s all there is to it! Let me know if you tried the recipe, and enjoy! I find baking very relaxing, but it rarely turns out the way I want it to, which is why I love this recipe so much 😊

3 thoughts on “bake with me – ginger loaf

Leave a Reply

