Stepping outside of your comfort zone

There was an interesting development at work today which could potentially make next year really great – I was asked if I would be happy to teach Art to some of the younger year groups, as the figures for next year are showing not so many students wanting to study French and not enough staff available to teach Art.

I have always wanted to be a teacher, for as long as I can remember. I was 9 years old when I first watched Roald Dahl’s Matilda, and my cousin and I both said when it was finished that we were going to be teachers one day, just like Miss Honey. She got closer than me (she’s a primary school teacher) but, nearly 20 years later, we are both teaching at schools in the same village, in a bizarre twist of fate!

As the years passed it became more of a financial decision to teach – I knew it would be a stable job with a decent wage, and teachers are (mostly) well-respected.

I realised when I was a teenager that I wanted to teach secondary, rather than primary. I’m not what you would call maternal (in fact friends with babies strangely never offer for me to hold their children, and I am sincerely thankful for that decision), and I think it takes a special sort of people to be able to teach primary school. I certainly couldn’t do it (and I tried, but that’s a blog for another time…).

So my next challenge was to decide what subject I wanted to teach. I did GCSEs in many subjects, but my favourites were always Art, English and German, so that was what I studied for my A-Levels. I eventually decided that German was probably the best subject. It wouldn’t have the high profile and pressures of teaching English, and the demand for Art teachers was not particularly high. So, with the help of my secondary-school careers advisor, I applied to study German at university.

And the rest is history. But now it looks like I mayΒ be starting an exciting new challenge next year! It will certainly be a bit scary in the beginning – I am not good with change in general – but hopefully we have plenty of time to prepare, and it will be something I will really enjoy. I’ll keep you posted πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “Stepping outside of your comfort zone

Leave a Reply

