Is ‘unfavourite’ a word?

Today’s blog was going to be a ‘bake with me’ blog, which I’d already started to write in preparation for the actual baking, and then realised I have no eggs. And there’s no way I’m going anywhere in this rain (and in this outfit; I’m wearing a bunny onesie), so baking will have to wait until next weekend, unless I’m feeling particularly energetic one evening after work, which is doubtful.

So, change of plan. I’m going to get a few things off my chest. A few things which have been bugging me for a while. You know sometimes, you buy something, or someone gives something to you, and you’re really excited about it, but then you try it, and it’sย so disappointing when it doesn’t turn out like you thought it would?

Well, here is my list of ‘Disappointing things which I have encountered in the last two months.’ I’m sharing them here so that you do not make the same mistakes I did and waste your time/ money/ calories on them. You can thank me later. I’ll also suggest a better alternative if I know one.

1. Aussie Miracle Dry Shampoo, in Assume Volume.

Normally, I’m a die-hard Batiste fan. I’ve been using it since I travelled round Germany for a summer when I was about 19, and since then I have tried others, but always come back to Batiste. But my best friend uses a lot of Aussie Miracle, and swears by all of their products. So I was looking forward to trying this one. It was a lot more expensive than my usual Batiste, so I was expecting great things. It just shows that money isn’t everything. It made my hair sticky, stiff and smelt like that vintage bag I bought from a charity shop – like talcum powder and flowers and old ladies’ perfume. Do not buy this, people, it’s just dreadful – in fact, it’s so dreadful that I didn’t even finish the can, which is unlike me when it comes to beauty products. I always finish it off. But not this. Yuck.

2. Lancรดme Bi-Facil eye make-up remover.

I was given a Lancรดme gift set with a sample of this eye makeup remover included. Again, it’s pretty high-end and I know it’s expensive to buy the full-size version, which again shows how little I know about the correlation between price and quality… This stuff felt dry, it took a hell of a lot of scrubbing to get my eye makeup off and worst of all, it hurt like hell. I’ll be sticking with my Body Shop camomile eye make-up remover from now on!

3. Carrot cake oatmeal

Moving onto food items, I have seen so many Instagram accounts promoting healthy eating extolling the virtues of eating oatmeal made into my favourite dessert, so I decided I’d try it myself. It was disgusting. And everyone keep asking me why my porridge was orange. I prefer to add in brown sugar, cinnamon and raisons and eat it warm like a delicious winter warmer. And steer far away from the vegetables.

4. Starbucks Gingerbread Latte

See photo above. Another foodie item. I love Starbucks. Seriously, ask anyone who knows me. I’ve been know to drink 2 or 3 in one weekend. It’s my go-to place for meeting friends, and I think one of the reasons is that the drinks are so varied and infinitely customisable. Not to mention Instagrammable. My favourite of the moment is the honey and almond hot chocolate, shortly followed by the eggnog latte with an extra shot of coffee. When the Christmas drinks are gone, though, I’ll probably be back to my old favourite hazelnut latte ๐Ÿ‘Œ๐Ÿผ (yes I just found emojis for the first time on my new MacBook) But back to the point. This is dreadful. I hated the peppermint mocha last year, and so it seems that every year I’m destined to hate one of Starbucks’ seasonal offerings.

5. Sainsbury’s apple pie scented candle

This is another total random, but I need to share my disappointment. This smelt incredible in the jar, but it smells like nothing when it burns. It also burns completely unevenly, and so I have a jar of wax left with a messy hole in the middle where the wick has burnt. Gah! It did’t have a label on it, and I can’t find it anywhere online, so maybe they stopped selling it. I hope so. Moral of that story; buy a Yankee or Kringle instead and save yourself the disappointment. I’m currently burning the Kringle Hot Chocolate double-wick candle which my fiancรฉ despises but I think is incredible.

6. Breaking Bad

I left this one til last because I have had a lot of hate for this. We started watching Breaking Bad back in September time, and for the first two episodes I was hooked. But after that it became more and moreย dull. We dragged through two and a half series before calling it a day, and I regret all those hours wasted. I just don’t get why people love it so much! The characters are infinitely dislikable (except for the guy who is a cop; he made it slightly more bearable) and it’s so tedious. Nothing happens for entire episodes at a time, and (as I mentioned on yesterday’s blog) I find it hard to keep track of characters.

That’s it for my rant-y blog, and I feelย soย much better for having shared my disappointment with you. Feel free to share yours, or to contradict me, or just read and enjoy. Peace out โœŒ๐Ÿผ

One thought on “Is ‘unfavourite’ a word?

Leave a Reply

