‘It’s not happy people who are thankful; it’s thankful people who are happy.’

starbucks

After yesterday’s thought-provoking post, today brings something a little more light-hearted. I first read the quote above about two weeks ago, and since then I’ve been trying to think of things that I’m thankful for each day. I’m not great at it – it’s been a tough term at work and so most of the time I’m just feeling exhausted and sad when I go to bed, and I forget to be thankful. But here’sΒ the top three things that I am thankful for today:

  1. I am thankful for my friends. I caught up with an old friend today whom I hadn’t seen for over 3 years, and he happened to be in the area and thought of me. I’m thankful that he still wanted to see me after all this time, and that nothing had changed. We had coffee and I did not feel the urge to Instagram once (the photo above is from another Starbucks trip. My most recent one isΒ rarely more than a week away)!
  2. I am thankful for the upcoming Christmas break. I’m looking forward to spending time with friends and family, and having time to do the things I enjoy.
  3. Lastly, I am thankful for the amazing slice of ginger loaf I ate in Starbucks. What? It was seriously good!

And now I’m smiling πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “‘It’s not happy people who are thankful; it’s thankful people who are happy.’

Leave a Reply

