Definitely Not Bridezilla

order of serviceSo I’m in the process of planning my wedding. It’s currently taking up most of my time.

I decided when I was very young – before I met the man of my dreams πŸ˜‰ – that I wanted to get married on a beach. I remember seeing photos of someone in my family in a wedding dress somewhere tropical, and I decided that that would be me one day.

As I got older, and I started to see my friends get married and plan their weddings with them, I stuck by my dream wedding abroad, but more for financial and organisational reasons! I’ve seen a) the ridiculous amounts of money that get ploughed into a wedding, and b) the arguments that erupt when people aren’t invited, or when people don’t agree with the choices you are making. I’ve also seen first-hand the stress that my friends have gone through with fraught dress-fittings, hair and makeup trials, visits to the venue and so on. I’m pretty casual about the whole thing. I’ll probably do my own makeup, have my sister put some flowers in my hair, and then probably fall over in the sea (clumsy girl right here. Remind me to tell you about how I spent 4 hours in A+E a couple of weeks ago). Seat covers? Table centrepieces? Pah. No thanks.

I want my wedding to be more than just one day. I know I’ll have to spend a lot of money making it special, but I want it to be an experience for everyone, not just everyone watching me and my other half all day. I want everyone to have a fantastic time, and I want to have amazing memories of the time leading up to my wedding, not crazy scary memories of stressed I was.

So we are going to Antigua for 2 weeks, with 9 of our closest friends and family. Firstly I need to say how lucky and grateful I am to have the kind of friends and family who are willing to spend the money and give up the time to come with us. Another reason why it needs to be special!

I’m a little sad that there will be some people who won’t be able to join us – if I had my way we would probably have more like 20 guests! But I understand that it’s a lot to ask. And we have agreed that even if not a single person could come, we would still go off to Antigua and get married.

One other issue that has of course been affected by our decision (luckily my lovely fiancΓ© agreed to my crazy Caribbean wedding plan!) has been THE DRESS. I’m a fainter. So I can’t risk having something big and puffy which will make me overheated all day. Plus I can’t think of anything worse than being hot and sweaty and uncomfortable on what should be one of the happiest days of my life! I’m not going to say much more on the subject since my dress is a closely-guarded-secret… but it’s not big or puffy πŸ™‚

And that’s about it! I will keep you updated on wedding-planning progress! And there will be a wedding-dress-related blog at some point in the near future too. My next blog is going to be an April favourites blog, filled with all of the things I have been loving this month. I can’t believe it’s May tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

